Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

yea…this is a bit overdue. So last summer a couple of my gfs and I went to DC’s restaurant week. We went to this loverly little restaurant called Zaytinya. The restaurant served Mediterranean Cuisine a bit like Tapas style. It was AMAZING…I definitely want to go back.


So they brought out this wonderfuly puffed bread that was crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and served it with a nice fruity balsalmic vinegar in olive oil.


Orange Blossom Cocktail
being the alcoholic I am…I chose to have a cocktail with my lunch.


Hummus
I believe out the 3 of us…I chose the BEST appetizer. This Hummus is definitely the BEST I have ever had. I would go back just for this.


Domatosoupa
My besti chose a wonderfully flavorful tomato soup. It had a bit of crumbled feta in it as well as a pinch of seasoned fresh veggies. I definitely recommend.


I seem to have forgotten was this was called. It was a Pita Chip Salad of sorts with a wonderful combination of flavors and spices.


Calamari Salad
I do not eat Calamari so I didn’t taste this one. The girls said it was a bit mushy though.


Spanakopita
This was wonderful. I love spinach and I loved that it was rolled in the pastry instead of the traditional triangle shape. Wonderfully creamy and flavorful.


I forgot the name to this one too…but they were spicy zuchini fritters. I love zuchini but the spice was a bit overwhelming.


Sarah’s third course was a Salmon dish. It was pretty good. Not the best of the meal though.


Spiced Beef Sirloin
WOW is all I can say for this dish. I was floored by the flavor of this dish. I wished it wouldn’t end.


Lamb kebab
beautifully prepared and not too gamey. The yogurt sauce complemented the meat well. could have done without the onion though.


Turkish Delight
Sarah’s dessert was better than besti’s and mine…of course it wasn’t real Turkish Delight but a Walnut Ice cream with Apricot jelly. Loved the nuttiness of the ice cream.


Apricot Panna Cotta
way too thick and creamy. We couldn’t finish this after the sumptuous meal we just had. But we were thankful for it.

Zaytinya
corner of 9th and G Streets, NW
701 9th Street NW Washington,DC 20004
(202) 638-0800
(202) 638-6969

