Iggies
818 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD
(410) 528-0818 ‎

We went to Iggies for a friend’s birthday. It’s his favorite pizza place so you know it’s good when he drives an hour and a half from Frederick, MD to get it in Baltimore City. =P

A little bit pricey but some of the pizzas are well worth their price.

Funghi
Mushroom Ragu/Leeks/Goat Cheese/Mozarella
This was my second favorite pizza out of the all of the pizzas we got between the 9 of us. (sorry I didn’t get pictures of all of them). The mushroom ragu was perfectly seasoned and redolent of the earthy flavors that come with portabellos. Add creamy flavorful goat cheese and you’re in heaven. seriously.

Alice
Basil Pesto/Mozarella/Garlic Spinach/Fresh Tomato/Goat Cheese/Parmesan
sounds delicious no? Good pizza. All of their dough bakes nice and crisp and thin. Was a bit salty though. I think the combination of Goat Cheese and Parmesan was a bit too much salt or maybe they added more salt on top with some of the other ingredients…nonetheless…salty. Would definitely give it another try another time. =]


Salomino
Sopressatta/Tomato Ragu/Smoked Mozzarella
When they called me to come pick up this pizza, I was a bit disappointed in myself. It looked as if I had picked my absent husband’s favorite Pepperoni pizza and wasn’t too happy about it because I felt like I was paying $16 for a pepperoni pizza I’d had millions of times. BOY WAS I WRONG! Hands down my favorite pizza here. The Sopressatta was nicely cured and flavorful. Crisp at the edges from baking. The smoked mozzarella is the star of this pizza. Complimented the Sopressatta so well by adding that nice smokey bbq flavor to it. I loved it so much I bought a small one for the husband so he could have it for lunch the next day. I’m such a good wife. =]

We also tried the Pera Saporita (pears, gorgonzola, balsamic vinegar) which was ok, the pears weren’t cooked enough. And the classic Margherita which was pretty good because of that nice crispy crust.

The large pizzas have 8 slices and could probably feed 1-1.5 persons depending on how hungry you are. I was hungry and ate 7 slices and was pretty satisfied and full. The small pizzas have 6 slices and feed one person. Hubs said it averaged to eating 2 slices of a regular delivery pizza.

Definitely recommend going to Iggies for pizza. Get the Salomino. =]

