Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This one was a bad one. But I’ll post it anyway to document my food journeys. The Ups and the Downs.

I love deep fried food. Who doesn’t? So I decided to try new batters while deep frying some of my favorite vegetables.

IPA Beer Battered Tempura Vegetables

Ingredients:
Veggies of choice sliced/julienned (I used Korean Sweet Potatoes, Idaho Potatoes, Korean Squash, and String Beans)
2 bottles of IPA (India Pale Ale)
2 tbsp Garam Masala or Indian Spice Mix
2 tbsp Salt
1 tbsp Pepper
4 C Flour (I used Korean frying flour)
2 C Canola Oil (for frying)

1. Blanche veggies by boiling in salted water for 5 minutes.

2. Drain veggies and dunk in an ice bath to stop cooking.

3. Dredge veggies in a cup of flour in a shallow bowl. Dredge in whisked mixture of Beer, 3 C Flour, salt, pepper, garam masala. Drop in hot canola oil. (be careful it’s HOT!)

4. Fry until golden brown.

Fail number one. IPA doesn’t make a tasty batter.

Fail number two. I didn’t have enough seasoning in my batter.

Fail number three. I was the only one eating and I made too much.

I’m still young. Still got a ways to go with perfecting my cooking. Thank God I have a gracious husband who will tell me whatever I make is delicious…hahahaha I think critiquing would help but for now I’m glad he’s so good to me. =]

