Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My current Role Model in life is Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman. I want to be like her…no…I want to BE HER…she is absolutely amazeballs!!!!

So when she posted this recipe for Cajun Chicken Pasta I HAAAAADDDD to make it…because hubs’ fave dish at a restaurant I cannot name right now because I don’t remember is a Cajun Chicken Pasta of sorts!

Sadly, the first time I attempted this, I attempted without a cast iron skillet…big mistake…my pasta came out all watery because it wasn’t blackened enough…=(

so this second time, I bought a skillet and added bacon to her recipe…bacon makes everything better!! I also minused the veggies…hahahaha so unhealthy I know….I did roast some brussels sprouts with butter and some more bacon to eat as a side…does that count?

I apologize for the head tilting…for some reason wordpress won’t let me rotate them. =(
Cajun Chicken Pasta

Ingredients:
1 lb Chicken Tenderloin, 1-inch cubes
1 TBSP Cajun Seasoning
1 TSP Old Bay
1 TSP Ground Black Pepper
3 Strips Bacon, chopped
1 C Chicken Stock
1 TBSP Butter
1 TBSP Flour
1/2 lb Pasta of choice cooked per package directions
splash of heavy cream (optional)

1. Boil pasta per package directions. I used Penne.


2. Toss chicken, Cajun Seasoning, Pepper, and Old Bay in a bowl together and coat the chicken well.


3. Bacon into skillet and cook til crispy~


4. Drain crispy bacon on a paper towel.


5. blacken chicken in bacon fat!


6. Set aside the chicken and add chicken stock, butter and whisk in flour. aaaaaand reduce to a nice saucy consistency!


7. Toss in cooked and drained pasta and swirlllllllll~ if you want to add more decadence, add a couple splashes of heavy cream…hehehe which I did. =P

buuooooon apetitooooooooooo

